Jake Heandhi

County Auditor & Commissioner of Elections

OFFICIAL BALLOT GENERAL ELECTION MARION COUNTY, IOWA TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 4, 2008 SUMMIT TOWNSHIP

Precinct Official's Initials

INSTRUCTIONS TO VOTERS

To vote, darken the oval(s) completely next to your choice, like this: . Write-In: To vote for a write-in candidate, write the person's name on the line provided and darken the oval.

Where to find the judges and proposed amendment to the Iowa Constitution: Judges: on the back of this ballot, beginning	FEDERAL OFFICES	STATE OFFICES
in the center column. Constitutional Amendment: on the back of this ballot, beginning in the right hand column.	For President and Vice President (Vote for no more than one team) Barack Obama, of Illinois (DEM) Joe Biden, of Delaware	For State Senator District 36 (Vote for no more than one)
	Joe Biden, of Delaware	Deb Ballalatak (DEM)
PARTISAN OFFICES	John McCain, of Arizona (REP)	Paul McKinley (REP)
STRAIGHT PARTY VOTING	Sarah Palin, of Alaska	(Write-in vote, if any)
	Chuck Baldwin, of Florida (CON)	
Straight party voting. To vote for all	Darrell L. Castle, of Tennessee	For State Representative District 71
candidates from a single party, fill in the oval in front of the party name. Not all parties have	Cynthia McKinney, of California (GRN)	(Vote for no more than one)
nominated candidates for all offices. Marking a	Rosa Clemente, of North Carolina	— Pat Van Zante (DEM)
straight party vote does not include votes for		. ,
nonpartisan offices, judges or questions.	Bob Barr, of Georgia (LIB) Wayne A. Root, of Nevada	Jim Van Engelenhoven (REP)
Straight Party Voting		(Write-in vote, if any)
(Vote for no more than one)	Gloria La Riva, of California (PSL) Robert Moses, of Maryland	COUNTY OFFICES
Democratic Party (DEM)	Robert Moses, of Maryland	
Republican Party (REP)	Ralph Nader, of Connecticut (PAF)	For Board of Supervisors
Socialist Workers Party (SWP)	Matt Gonzalez, of California	At Large
OTHER POLITICAL ORGANIZATIONS	Brian Moore, of Florida (SPU) Stewart A. Alexander, of California	(Vote for no more than two)
The following organizations have		Paul Kockler (DEM)
nominated candidates for only one office:	James Harris, of California (SWP) Alyson Kennedy, of New Jersey	Jerry James Weldon Sr. (DEM)
	Alyson Kennedy, or New Jersey	Jim Kingery (REP)
Constitution Party (CON) Green Party (GRN)	(Write-in vote for President, if any)	Sam L Nichols (REP)
Libertarian (LIB)	(Write-in vote for Vice President, if any)	(Write-in vote, if any)
Party for Socialism and Liberation	For United States Senator	(Write-in vote, if any)
(PSL)	(Vote for no more than one)	For County Auditor
Peace and Freedom (PAF) Socialist Party USA (SPU)	Tom Harkin (DEM)	(Vote for no more than one)
	Christopher Reed (REP)	Jake Grandia (REP)
	(Write-in vote, if any)	(Write-in vote, if any)
	For United States Representative	For County Sheriff
	Third District	(Vote for no more than one)
	(Vote for no more than one)	
	C Leonard L. Boswell (DEM)	Ronald Goemaat (REP)
	C Kim Schmett (REP)	(Write-in vote, if any)
	Frank V Forrestal (SWP)	
	(Write-in vote, if any)	

TURN THE BALLOT OVER

NON PARTISAN OFFICES	JUDICIAL BALLOT	PUBLIC MEASURE Notice to voters: For an affirmative vote
-	Notice to voters: Vote on all names by filling in the appropriate oval in front of each name.	upon any question submitted upon this
Summit Township		ballot fill in the oval in front of the word "YES." For a negative vote fill in the oval
For Township Trustee (Vote for no more than two)	Supreme Court	in front of the word "NO."
	Shall the following judges of the Supreme	
Bradley Van Roekel	Court be retained in office?	
Carl Weyers	Daryl L. Hecht	Shall the following amendment to the Constitution be adopted?
(Write-in vote, if any)		-
(Write-in vote, if any)		Summary: Changes the language that describes a person who cannot legally
For Soil & Water Conservation District Commissioner	Brent Appel	vote from "idiot or insane person" to "a person adjudged mentally incompetent to
(Vote for no more than three)	Dialit Ahhei	vote."
Jack Bensink	◯ Yes	Section 5 of Article II of the Constitution of
Janet Petty	◯ No	the State of lowa is repealed and the following adopted in lieu thereof:
Vernon Boot	Mark S. Cady	DISQUALIFIED PERSONS. SEC. 5. A
(Write-in vote, if any)		person adjudged mentally incompetent to vote or a person convicted of any
(Write-in vote, if any)		infamous crime shall not be entitled to the
(Write-in vote, if any)	○ No	privilege of an elector.
For County Agricultural Extension Council (Vote for no more than four)	Court of Appeals	No
Craig Greene	Shall the following judges of the Court of	
Kisha Jahner	Appeals be retained in office?	
Nancy Harsin	Rosemary Shaw Sackett	
Karen M. Ackley	⊂ Yes	
Cindi Dale	◯ No	
(Write-in vote, if any)	Larry J. Eisenhauer	
(Write-in vote, if any)	Vac	
(Write-in vote, if any)	Ves No	
(Write-in vote, if any)	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
For County Agricultural Extension Council To Fill Vacancy	Terry L. Huitink	
(Vote for no more than one)	⊂ Yes	
Mark Drost	◯ No	
(Write-in vote, if any)	District 5A Court	
	Shall the following judges of the District 5A	
	Court be retained in office?	
	Dale B. Hagen	
	◯ Yes	
-		
	William H. Joy	
-		
—		

TURN THE BALLOT OVER